IMG_1122Iriga City agricultural extension workers headed by OIC-City Agriculturist Ruben Delos Santos won honors at the 2014 National Quality Corn Achievers Awards. Teresita A. Barce, Marly L. Corporal and Jonafel A. Raduran, won the Outstanding Agricultural Extension Workers category given during the 10th Philippine National Corn Congress held at the Limketkai Mall Center, Cagayan De Oro City on October 23, 2014.

The awards are given to Local Government Units and agricultural extension workers who rendered exceptional performance in the promotion and development of corn sector.

The National Corn Congress is being held yearly through the efforts of Philmaize, the National Corn Competitiveness Board

nd the Department of Agriculture. Department of Agriculture ROV in the Bicol region level and qualified them for the national award.

Besides the Outstanding AEW awards won by the three, three other honors were bestowed upon the city by DA-ROV. Iriga City won the Organix Agriculture Achievers’ Award while Mr. Mariano Layosa, a local farmer, won as Outstanding Small Farmer. Miss Jonafel Taduran waa also awarded for being an Outstanding Focal Person.